Because, so far any conversation after ‘I am a writer’ has never been a pleasant one. Sample these.

Conversation 1:

Person: So, what do you do?

Me: I am a writer.

Person: (narrows eyes) Hmm.. oh really? That’s uhmm…interesting.

Me: No, I just say that because I wanted to see that stupid expression on your face.

Conversation 2:

Person: I hear you write well.

Me: (surprised) Oh, thanks ­čÖé

Person: So, what do you write?

Me: I write for magazines – articles, features and such…(more blah)

Person: You know, it’s interesting. I used to write too when I was in school. My English teacher used to say I had some real talent. I guess I could have become something.

Me: (banging my head on the wall) Yeah, you’re right. It is very easy. Super easy.

Conversation 3:

Person: You’ve been busy since morning on your laptop.

Me: Yes, just reviewing my article before I send it out. Today is the deadline.

Person: (offers sincerely) You know I’ve studied for GMAT. I can take a look at your article for you. I know some fancy words.

Conversation 4:

I meet this Person in a completely personal setting, where we are engaged in a real-estate deal. This is the very first time I meet him.

Person: What do you do?

Me: I am a freelance writer.

Person: (smirks) Oh, does that even pay?

Me: (want to slap him and say that it’s none of your business, but suck it up and say timidly) It’s not bad.

Person: (does not let it go) Oh, really? Can’t be much.

***

You get the drift. But there is admittedly some entertainment out of these conversations if you don’t get all touchy about it. Nowadays its become a sort of a hobby for me to introduce myself as a writer and just see where the conversation leads. I realize it might give more material to write another blog post on this. A handful of people┬áspoil the fun by simply saying… ‘Wow! that must be so much fun. I’m really happy for you!’ Hey, what do they know!

 

